The Energy Innovation Pioneers program, held annually at CERAWeek, identifies the most innovative new technologies and business models across the energy spectrum based on judging criteria that includes creativity, feasibility of plan, scalability of technology and leadership.

“Transitioning the global economy to a lower emissions energy system will require innovations not just in technology, but also in how they are brought to market and scaled,” said Carolyn Seto, director, technology and innovation practice, IHS Markit and Energy Innovation Pioneer chair.

“The theme of this year’s CERAWeek, ‘Pace of Change’ speaks to overcoming the challenges and seizing the opportunities of reducing emissions while supplying the needs of a growing global economy. These eight companies and entrepreneurs embody the next wave of innovation that will set the pace in shaping that energy future.” “The Energy Innovation Pioneers program is an essential part of CERAWeek, just as innovation and technology are at the center of energy industry,” said James Rosenfield, senior vice president, IHS Markit and co-chairman of CERAWeek.

“We are pleased to honor this year’s class of pioneers that are blazing new trails of innovation across the global energy landscape.” CERAWeek 2022: Pace of Change: Energy, Climate and Innovation will examine the challenges and opportunities of reducing emissions while supplying the needs of a growing global economy in the era of energy transition.

Featuring a community of thought leaders, technologists, start-ups, investors, academics, energy companies and government officials, the Innovation Agora will showcase transformational technology platforms in the energy space ranging from digitalization, AI, analytics and connectivity, robotics, blockchain, additive manufacturing, mobility and decarbonization.